Toddler Tuesday: Making a Little Einsteins Rocket Cake

My son is  a huge Little Einsteins fan, so he was thrilled when I agreed to throw him a Little Einsteins birthday party.  I soon realized this was going to be more of a challenge than I anticipated because I couldn’t find Little Einsteins products anywhere!  I managed to buy some party supplies online and got creative by purchasing some musical party supplies that were being sold for Mardi Gras.  The final challenge was what to do about a cake.

While I was searching for Little Einsteins Birthday Party supplies, I came across of few websites that posted their Rocket birthday cake creations.  My son happened to walk into the room when I was showing my husband a picture of a rocket cake.  Aidan saw the photo of a rocket cake like this and he did not stopped asking for one since.  When I asked him what he wanted the Easter Bunny to bring him, he even said, ” A rocket cake!”  I knew from that moment that I had to at least try to create my Little Einstein fan a rocket cake.

I purchased 4 piece set of Wilton oval cake pans in order to the create the body of the rocket cake.  I used the two smallest cake pans to bake my cakes.  I made them the night before the party and put them in the freezer , so they would be easier to work with in the morning.  Once I took the cakes out of the freezer, I  stacked the smaller oval cake on top of the larger cake.  Next, I took a bread knife and cut off parts of the cake in order to make the top look more like a dome.

I found the idea for this specific rocket cake on a blog I found called, Andrea Meyers: cooking, gardening,  & four hungry guys.  She gave great detailed instructions as to how her husband made this cake for their son.  I did make a few changes when making this cake for my son.  I chose to create the rocket engines out of rice crispy treats rather than ice cream cones.  I found rice crispy treats to be pretty easy because I simply molded them into the shape I wanted while they were still warm and malleable.  I cut two graham crackers into the shape I desired and then stuck them in side the rice crispy treats.  Once I placed them next to the cake, the frosting of the rocket began.  I made the blue and yellow frosting I needed for the cake; however, I ended up purchasing the red frosting from the bakery at one of our local grocery stores.  I was afraid my frosting would not taste very good after adding the red food coloring and gel to get the color I needed, so this seemed like an easy and worry free option!  I ended up buying two 2lb tubs of frosting and only used one tub.  If you decide to ever purchase frosting for a cake this size you probably only need 2 to 3 lbs of frosting.  Save yourself a little money and don’t buy 4 lbs!  I guess I will be making a cake for Mother’s Day that needs red frosting:)  I used a Betty Crocker red marker to color the stem of a red Tootsie pop and then placed it in the dome of the rocket.

Our family usually has dirt cake on birthdays, so making a cake like this was uncharted waters for me!  So if you have been considering taking on the task of making a fun or unique cake, all I can say is give it a try!  You might surprise yourself!  It takes quite a bit of time, but it was worth it in the end.  My son loved his cake.  When Aidan first saw his rocket cake he said, “That looks yummy!”  It was a great feeling seeing the delight on his face.  You may notice on this photo that one of rocket’s headlights lost its circular shape a bit.  Aidan was so excited to see the cake that he immediately stuck his finger into one of the headlights.  With the exception of the “broken headlight”, rocket remained in pretty good condition until I finally cut into the cake after we sang happy birthday to the birthday boy!  Have you ever made any fun birthday cakes or other desserts? I would love to hear about them!

Happy Toddler Tuesday!

This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Toddler Tuesday: Making a Little Einsteins Rocket Cake

  1. Ashley Toppins says:

    I love it!!
    Great JOB

  2. Pam L. says:

    His rocket cake is just adorable

  3. Laura says:

    Thanks for the detailed instructions…I am going to try and make it this weekend. Wish me luck as I don’t consider myself artistic 🙂

  4. southernlivingblog says:

    Thanks for sharing, my little guy loves the little Einsteins too. So I will be tackling this rocket cake, wish me luck! 🙂

Leave a Reply

